top of page
  • thekelly36094

Home, Sweet Home!

Updated: Jun 12, 2021


Photo by LJ Christensen

I never dreamed I'd have a horse living in my new living room, but what can I say? He'll be here a few months, and I'm getting to be fond of him--he's very clean and exceptionally artistic--and if you don't believe me, you'll have to come by and see for yourself. He's a (big) part of the Folks Exhibit, which is tremendously interesting. Of course, I also have a few of my own paintings up as well.


I've always like to work in the mornings, but I have visiting hours all afternoons, Monday-Saturday. The schedule is evolving as I juggle with interns, a part-time curator, and several friends helping me keep the doors open, but we're generally open 11-5 or 12-6. Please come join us! You'll likely to see something new every time you come.


I had the most wonderful house-warming party ever! Well over 100 folks showed up at the preview night, the ribbon-cutting and the Grand Opening. Ivy Creek Healthcare donated the most scrumptious food by Chef Alex Hoefer from Wind Creek Hospitality that looked good enough to paint and flowers that looked good enough to eat. During the Premier Party preview, my friends at the wine and cheese shop down the street came to host a lovely cheese/wine sampling as well.


At the ribbon-cutting the next day, I was honored to have Mayor Jerry Willis cut the ribbon--he's a very special friend. Board President Belyn Richardson gave a little speech of thanks, but I have to thank HER, too, for all the work she's done finding grants and helping with the renovation. The Kelly even received a very welcome donation from The Rumbling Waters Art Club. How kind they are!


At the ribbon-cutting, there was also a heart-warming tribute by Phyllis Kennedy to her cousin Sylvia McConnell, a dear, dear friend of mine and well-known local teacher. I'm hanging a plaque in her honor, and the Board named an art scholarship for her. We were able to announce the grateful recipient at the ribbon-cutting. Mostly, however, there was eating, drinking and making merry. When I look around at the beautiful building, I'm in awe. So happy to be home. So happy to have so many friends....Even a horse, of course. -- Kelly Fitzpatrick


Kelly with Horse photo by LJ Christensen






19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page