top of page
  • thekelly36094

"Paint It Black" by Kelly

Updated: Feb 19, 2021



Certainly, if Michelangelo can paint the entire Sistine Chapel ceiling, I can handle the New Kelly's ceiling. We need to "Paint It Black," which sounds like a song I heard once on TV. [editor's note: "Paint It Black" was the theme to the TV drama China Beach.] I'd really rather be painting vibrant scenes on canvas, like I learned to do in France, than up here on my back.


However, this ceiling has to be done before we can put up the dry wall. The contractors and designers are doing great. We have wiring, special lighting selected, and some great finishes. Russell's has given us a great discount, too. Anyway, next come the walls. I think those are more fun than ceilings. I've painted a few murals on buildings in my day; in fact, there's a bank in Tallassee I remember well.


I can't wait to see the building done--it's now just a matter of weeks, and I will help wherever I can. It's one thing to climb a ladder, but another one to have to lie on my back, which wreaks havoc with my pipe. But it's OK. Almost done. What's the next step--building walls? OK, now where did I put my hammer?

--contributed by Kelly Fitzpatrick

63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page